The Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums (ALHFAM)

    Improve listing

The Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums (ALHFAM) is an international organization serving the interests and needs of its individual and institutional members and supporting experiential interpretations of history.

ALHFAM is incorporated in the State of Maryland as a non-profit tax-exempt (501[c][3])
organization, and is governed by a member-elected Board in accordance with member-approved bylaws.

ALHFAM draws its membership from a broad spectrum of individuals and organizations involved in the collection, preservation or interpretation of material culture, traditional skills and historical processes. Members include volunteers, reenactors, institutional staff and vendors of goods or services. ALHFAM’s original focus on farming and agriculture has expanded to embrace disciplines from architecture to zymurgy and many in between. ALHFAM maintains, and seeks to expand relationships with other museum, historical and interpretive organizations with related interests.

Services provided to members include publications, conferences, specialized instructional programs, electronic media, including a website and listserv, and support for regional affiliates. ALHFAM services assist members in fulfilling their professional responsibilities and improving the quality of their public offerings.

ALHFAM Regions

ALHFAM is divided into nine regions in North America to promote wider participation in ALHFAM activities at a local level. ALHFAM's regional representatives in both the United States and Canada coordinate regional meetings and distribute regional newsletters.

There are six regions in the USA:

New England



Midwest (represented by The Midwest Open-Air Museum Coordinating Council-MOMCC) 

Mountain Plains


There are three regions in Canada:

Central Canada (Ontario and Quebec)

Atlantic Canada (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island) 

Western Canada (Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Yukon Territory)

Coordination of the regions is the responsibility of the CORN Committee (Committee On Regional Networking), which is chaired by the Vice President.