East Providence Historical Society
Founded in 1966, the East Providence Historical Society meetings were originally held at the Roger Williams Grange, Rumford Grange and the former Rumford Community Center.
In 1987 the Society was granted a lease from the City to occupy the historic John Hunt House in the picturesque Hunt’s Mills section in Rumford. The house, built between 1750 – 1790, is a 5 bay, center chimney, Georgian style residence typical of a well-to-do family living in a country setting.
The John Hunt House functions as a headquarters for regular and special events and is located in the southernmost tip of the Blackstone Valley National Heritage Corridor. Society members and volunteers have repaired and restored the building appropriate to the original design of the house.
Hunts Mills is the site of the earliest mills on the Ten Mile River with natural falls and a Denil fish ladder. Our 1750 museum house is home of the Society and its collections and a variety of exhibits including Rumford Baking Powder, Hunt and Walker family heirlooms. The kitchen herb and perennial gardens are within a Master Gardener site.
Our members are dedicated to preserving the heritage and enjoying the history of our city.