Discover General Washington’s Cambridge Headquarters at the Longfellow House
George Washington arrived in Cambridge at the beginning of July 1775. Two weeks later, he moved his headquarters to the abandoned mansion of John Vassall, along the road to Watertown. Slightly less than nine months later, the Commander-in-Chief would depart a changed man. During this period, Washington experienced things that profoundly shaped his development as a national leader.
You will learn more about this period and pay a special visit to the archives where special objects from the time period will be on display. The tour will take about an hour.
Our thanks to the National Park Service staff at the Longfellow House for their help in arranging this tour.
More about Longfellow House-Washington’s Headquarters National Historic Site
Now part of the National Park Service, the home was built for Loyalist John Vassall in 1759. Washington then held his headquarters here from July 1775-April 1776. In the nineteenth century, it was home to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow for more than 45 years.
J.L. Bell wrote an exhaustive history of the property, rich in historical detail, that is available online in its entirety.
The first tour will be at 9:00 am and the second tour will be at 9:10 am. The tour will last for about an hour.